Current Santa Ana College students are invited to apply to be a Santa Ana College Summer Research Scholar. This program was developed to support students who are en route to a Bachelor’s Degree and seriously considering graduate study. The program will feature research training seminars, presentations by distinguished scholars, and the opportunity to complete a small group research project.

The program runs from
mid-June to mid-July on
Mondays and Wednesdays from 1:00pm-5:00pm.

For more information, please contact Dr. Fernando Ortiz at 714.564.6554 or ortiz_fernando@sac.edu.

Program Benefits

As a result of your participation in the Summer Research Scholars Program, you will:

  • Gain valuable research experience for your academic portfolio
  • Have the opportunity to network with scholars from uci and csuf
  • Have personal contact with a faculty advisors
  • Work with other motivated students
  • Participate in field trips to uci and csuf during the program
  • Explore future research and graduate studies opportunities

Program Requirements

  • Attend all meetings and required lab sessions
  • Meet weekly with your research team and actively participate in the group project
  • Turn in all assignments in a timely manner
  • Meet weekly with an advisor/ta

Program Expectations

We expect that you will make the very best of your experience in the program. To this end, we expect that you will:

  • Work collaboratively and respectfully with team members
  • Contribute your insight and opinions to group projects
  • Always conduct yourself in a professional and scholarly manner
  • Ask for guidance from support staff and team members when needed
Support Team
Santa Ana College
Sara Lundquist Vice President, Student Services 564-6085 lundquist_sara@sac.edu
Micki Bryant Dean of Counseling 564-6078 bryant_micki@sac.edu
Lilia Tanakeyowma Dean of Student Affairs 564-6971 tanakeyowma_lilia@sac.edu
Aurora Kamimura Associate Dean, EOPS 564-6232 kamimura_aurora@sac.edu
Fernando Ortiz Professor and Chair, Psychology 564-6554 ortiz_fernando@sac.edu
Shannon Jackson Executive Secretary, Student Service 564-6085 jackson_shannon@sac.edu
CSUF
Mark Kamimura Director, Educational Partnerships 657-278-5579 mkamimura-jimenez@exchange.fullerton.edu
UCI
Santana Ruiz Associate Director, Center for Educational Partnerships 949-824-1015 ruiz@uci.edu